Towing the Line

There are now so many lines for running with your dog available, it’s hard to know which one to go for, so I thought I’d write a little bit about the types and my own experiences of which works best for me in which situation.

The first line I had to start out with was the Canicross line: http://www.k9trailtime.com/shop/canicross-line-one-or-two-dog.html which suited me perfectly because it came with colour options and was cheap to start out with. I am pleased to say I still have the line and it’s so hard-wearing that in all the years I’ve used it, the line still looks (nearly) new. The hard wearing quality of the line is perhaps one of the reasons I decided to change it though, as I was finding it very hard on my hands to hold both dogs on the start lines for races. I do still however use the bikejor and scooter equivalent on the scooter: http://www.k9trailtime.com/shop/bikejor-scooter-line-one-or-two-dogs.html

The Canicross line I started out with, simple, tough and good value

The Canicross line I started out with, simple, tough and good value

After the Nordkyn line,  I tried a number of other lines and have since gone for softer options on the hands, because I often have to hold the dogs in if we do any road running and at the start of races.

One of the toughest webbing lines I use is the Howling Dog Alaska Line: http://www.k9trailtime.com/shop/howling-dog-line.html

Howling Dog Alaska Line

Howling Dog Alaska Line

However, I particularly like the Non-Stop Canicross/Skijor/Bikejor line because it comes in a variety of lengths and has the bungee integrated with no knots in the line. For more information or to see purchase options go to:

http://www.k9trailtime.com/shop/canicross/canicross-lines/non-stop-running-line.html

The newest line from Non-stop is elasticated the entire length in all versions

The newest line from Non-stop is elasticated the entire length in all versions

Another line also made of webbing, which is softer on the hands, are the Arctic Wolf lines, also available in a variety of lengths to suit your needs and with an integrated grab handle near the clip which attaches to your dog.

http://www.k9trailtime.com/shop/arctic-wolf-line.html

The Arctic Wolf line comes in 3 different lengths in single and now 2 different lengths in a double version

The Arctic Wolf line comes in 3 different lengths in single and now 2 different lengths in a double version

One of my favourite lines in my collection of lines and one of the most useful is the Bono’s Canicross/Walking Line (http://www.k9trailtime.com/shop/bono-canicross-walking-line.html) I introduced this line to the K9 Trail Time range as a result of some complaints at Parkruns that other runners were finding the canicrossers lines a trip hazard. The line is much shorter than a normal canicross line and keeps your dog really close to you, it also has a handy grab handle on the outside of the line near to where it attaches to your dog for greater control when needed, for example by roads. It is also suitable for normal dog walking but not long enough for bikejor or scootering.

Bono's Line or the 'Parkrun' Line

Bono’s Line or the ‘Parkrun’ Line

The Bono Lines are also now available in a standard length:

http://www.k9trailtime.com/shop/bono-standard-canicross-line.html

And a two dog option:

http://www.k9trailtime.com/shop/bonos-two-dog-canicross-walking-line.html

As you can see there is quite a choice available to you and if you would like any more advice or information on any of the Lines I use and sell at K9 Trail Time, please do not hesitate to contact me (emilyt@k9trailtime.com) and I would happy to help.

Leave a Reply

